awards: 1996 Pritzker Prize, 2012 Prince of Asturias Award for the Arts, Prince of Asturias Award for the Arts, Pritzker Prize

José Rafael Moneo Vallés (born 9 May 1937) is a Spanish architect. He was born in Tudela, Spain, and won the Pritzker Prize for architecture in 1996. He studied at the ETSAM, Technical University of Madrid (UPM) from which he received his architectural degree in 1961. From 1958 to 1961 he worked in the office in Madrid of the architect Francisco Javier Sáenz de Oiza. In 1963 he received a two year fellowship to study at the Spanish Academy in Rome, which had a great influence on his later work. After his return to Spain in 1965, he taught as an adjunct professor at the ETSAM in Madrid (1966-1970). In 1972, became Professor of Elements of Composition at the ETSAB, for which he moved to Barcelona. He has taught architecture at various locations around the world and from 1985 to 1990 was the chairman of Harvard Graduate School of Design, where he is the first Josep Lluís Sert Professor of Architecture. He became Academic Numerary in the Academia de Bellas Artes de San Fernando in Madrid in May 1997. Rafael Moneo's list of recommended/ significant architecture:
All sites for Rafael Moneo:

Fabrikstrasse 14

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 vote, 60.00% worth checking out)
Location: Basel, Switzerland
Architect/Designers: Rafael Moneo

Audrey Jones Beck Building

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (be the first to vote by clicking on the stars)
Location: Houston, USA
Architect/Designers: Rafael Moneo